Total Commander Ultima Prime

One For All

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
win 7 taskbar
as of version 5.1 and new thingy that measures various system parameters, the taskbar on win7 is not working correctly. i have pinned tcup to taskbar, but when i click on it a new instance shows up at the end of taskbar (like it isn't pinned) and every new instance i open stacks at that new temporary icon. i tried pinning that temp icon but it pins total commander exe instead, and clicking on it starts tcup without new features (which are nice and useful) and also uses tc icon.
i hope this will be fixed in next release

example: [Image: taskbar.th.png]
i'm no programmer (i can compile a program that prints "hello world!") but i figured that the problem was in tcup exe launching tc exe and other stuff so win7 doesn't recognize it's the same program.
maybe there's a way to trick windows into believing it's the same process, or some script in visual basic that allows programmers to override some functions (a shot in the dark). dunno, but i really like the new taskbar, it's similar to one on mac os and much more functional than the mess in winxp taskbar when one has many programs open at once.
back to topic, as a temporary solution maybe you could add an option to turn off the titlebar info as i believe it's the cause of the problem. i used previous versions up to 5.0 and taskbar worked fine.
also i would like other w7 users to test this function and report as maybe my problem is an isolated issue or has something to do with 64bit os.
on the other hand, tcup is not the only program that behaves this way - of the ones i tried to pin nero 10 isn't working right, and also rapidshare manager.
(08-27-2010, 04:59 PM)Pawel Wrote: You can turn it off if you want. Just open tc up.ini file and set option: ShowInfo=0.
If you do this, TC UP.exe will start TC and close immediately.